Today at about 2:30 p.m. I’ll be leaving the office to drive forty miles in what I assume will be pre-holiday traffic to interview witnesses.  I will be meeting with other witnesses for the same case Saturday at 4 as well.  No, the timing’s not great, but this is when they were available, so that’s when I do it.  I don’t really mind.  The truth is meeting with people to figure out the best way to defend them is one of my favorite parts of the job. 

And this is how you need to think if you want to try cases.  No one is going to give you a framed certificate to celebrate your willingness to give up your weekend.  Your clients expect it, and so you do it.  You’re not special because you’re a lawyer.  You don’t get to organize everyone’s schedule around your own (although I’ve worked with a few opposing counsel who seem to think I have to work around theirs).  It isn’t glamorous.  You have to want to do it. 

So, that’s my two cents.  Enjoy your Memorial day weekend, everybody.